Sunday Night Talk Down

Currently in the throes of an unforgiving hangover. Jitters, anxiety, smoker’s cough, lethargy, never ending hunger, the shakes, but most inconveniently, the crushing realization that tomorrow comes another week.

I don’t even know why I’m writing this. I should probably be eating something or maybe finally taking that three-day old load of laundry out of the dryer. Odds are, you’re right where I am too. It’s time to fight back against the dying of your will and forcefully reclaim the little freedom you have left.

What follows is a step-by-step combination of meditation, entertainment, introspection and food. Follow me into the light. Hold my hand and never fall victim to the foul beast known as Sunday night.

I’m Watching:

National Treasure: Book of Secrets, 8:30pm, ABC Family. I often wait until Monday night to watch TD since most episodes of that show send me spiraling into a pit of despair and paranoia that I can’t recover from until one or two in the morning. I am going with something light this evening. Nothing like a popcorn historical fiction masterpiece starring Nic Cage. The National Treasure franchise doesn’t get enough credit, especially as a soothing, take-my-brain-out-of-my-head, easy-to-follow thriller. There are barely any guns, there’s American “history” and the criminally underrated Diane Kruger. Love her.

Alternate programming: The 2000s: A New Reality (NatGeo)

I’m Listening To:

“Stepping Out” by Joe Jackson. They used to play this song at my family pool during the summer. Nothing gets rid of my Sunday night anxiety like reminders of my youth and how disappointed my 12-year-old self would be in how badly I’ve sold out. Still puts me at ease.

Food:

Chipotle.

Godspeed.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Night Talk Down

Talk to me, Goose...

